Seven Samurai

This is one long movie. I had to see it because it makes all of the “best ever” lists, and it was a good show. The camera work was beautiful, and it just felt cool. Still though, who has 3.5 hrs these day?

The most striking aspect of Seven Samurai is the final line. The winners turn out to be losers. Why even be a hero in that society? I’m sure there’s a Christological lesson here, as the movie leaves you with no reason to ever do a good deed.

There’s not even a future. At least Leonides’ 300 leave you with an eschatology. Not so with the Samurai. Even in glory, all is vanity.

This entry was posted in movies by Steven Wedgeworth. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Wedgeworth

Steven Wedgeworth is the pastor of Christ Church in Lakeland, FL. He is also a founder and general editor of The Calvinist International. A graduate of Reformed Theological Seminary (Jackson, MS), a full-time minister, and occasional classical school teacher, Steven lives in Lakeland, FL with his wife, son, and daughter.

3 thoughts on “Seven Samurai

  1. I will have to check this out. The Samurai sound like the “heroes” of their culture. I wonder if there are parallels between them and the Greek heroes, and their respective world views. You have suggested that the Greekers may have had the advantage of some hope for the future.

    I will check back after my writing is done and I have found 3.5 hrs to invest in the film.

  2. I love the movie. I watch it every year or so. I guess that means that I have a lot of free time… or I have learned to sleep less.

  3. My favorite Kurosawa flick is “Yojimbo.” Kurosawa, in the wake of the Americanization of Japan after WWII, liked to adapt the western cowboy motif into his work.

Leave a Reply

