Superintendents and Bishops

I’ve mentioned before about the Scottish episcopal system here and here.  Patterson gives us a good look at the specifics of the original makeup:

The Book of Discipline had recognized the need for officials who would oversee local churches, supervise the establishment of new ones, and ensure that only qualified persons would serve as ministers. It specified that such officials, called superintendents, would be in charge of areas whose boundaries were intended to reflect the geographical configurations of the country. In the early 1560s five superintendents and three bishops who conformed to the new religious settlement had begun their work.

~ W. B. Patterson King James VI and I and the Reunion of Christendom. pg. 7-8

What this means is that there were five superintendents, of the Reformed persuasion, and three continuing bishops retaining their positions from the pre-Reformation polity.  All were now united under the Church of Scotland and the Magistrate.

This entry was posted in catholicity, church history, King James by Steven Wedgeworth. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steven Wedgeworth

Steven Wedgeworth is the associate pastor of Faith Presbyterian Church in Vancouver, British Columbia. He writes about theology, history, and political theory, and he has taught Jr. High and High School. He is the founder and general editor of The Calvinist International, an online journal of Christian Humanism and political theology, and a Director for the Davenant Institute.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s